Thursday, February 2, 2023
What is the CISM Certification, and why is it valuable in 2021-22?

What is the CISM Certification, and why is it valuable in 2021-22?


In recent years, CISM has become one of the most valuable and sought-after IT certifications. CISM professionals guard against data breaches and ensure that information security measures align with the company’s organization.

CISM certification demonstrates that you are attentive to IT security and have a thorough understanding of current information system trends and advancements.

The certification aims at professionals who need to concentrate on the organizational aspect of data protection or security rather than the deep inner workings of various data security concepts. CISM (Certified Information Security Manager) is a multi-component crisis intervention strategy that is extensive, integrative, and multifaceted.

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association, also known as ISACA, offers the CISM credential since it comprises numerous crisis intervention components that span the entire time range of a crisis for CISM certification.

CISM interventions span the pre-crisis period, the post-crisis period, and the acute crisis period. As a result, professionals with the CISM certification are in high demand to plan, develop, evaluate, and supervise an organization’s information security.

The Certified Information Security Manager, also known as CISM certification, is for information security managers with relevant duties to guarantee that the data storage and protection is maintained.

CISM Domains:

● Information Security Governance
● Information Risk Management and Compliance
● Information Security Program Development and Management
● Information Security Incident Management

Why is CISM Certification Worth it in 2021-22?

By completing the certification, you will develop, implement, and manage your organization’s security architecture. After completion, you are primarily in charge of planning the corporate security architecture and maintaining and developing the security program.

The certification is a road that leads to employment in management, professional, risk management, and audits. It recognizes your achievement of front-line and unique job experience, which is needed for a data security specialist.

A CISM certification can assist you in advancing your career as an information security specialist. This certification is accepted in 180 countries throughout the world. Thus possessing it will help you stand out. Moreover, the majority of developing countries are planning to use cybersecurity experts in their future initiatives.

When compared to a professional without a certificate, a CISM-certified professional receives a better package.


A minimum of 5 years of experience in information security, 2-3 years of experience as an information security manager, and passing the CISM examination are required for CISM certification. You can take the exam before completing the required five years of work experience.

The ISACA Code of Professional Ethics and the CISM Continuing Education Policy must also be agreed to and followed. You shall not be certified till you have completed the required work experience.

Five years of work experience in the infosec field and a minimum experience of 3 years in infosec management are required to qualify for the exam. The candidate must gain the experience within ten years before the application date or within five years from passing the exam.

How to maintain the CISM certification?

A good proficiency and knowledge of information systems security management are necessary, along with completing 20 continuing professional education hours. Following ISACA’s Professional Ethics Code is also required to maintain a CISM certification.

CISM exam details:

The CISM Exam is offered twice a year, in June and December. The CISM exam test is a 4-hour exam that comprises 200 multiple-choice questions. Candidates are put through their paces in four different areas of information security.

The CISM exam can be taken either in-person or online, consists of 200 questions, and, like the SAT, is scored on a scale of 200 to 800, with 450 being a passing score.

● 24% questions- Information security governance
● 33% questions- Information risk management and compliance
● 25% questions- Information security program development and management
● 18% questions- Information security incident management

CISM cost:

To begin with, you should first enroll for the CISM exam; pre-registering costs $415 for members and $545 for non-members, while final enrollment costs $465 for members and $595 for non-members. After that, you should pass the CISM examination and apply for certification.

At last, you need to pass the CISM examination and follow the ISACA code of professional ethics.

In conclusion, the CISM certification has shown that its employees contribute to group competency. Directors and enterprises value their well-qualified opinion. As a result, most businesses provide employees with enticing packages to give them the most essential security preparations.

Leave a Response

Habib Kazi is a General Blogger & writer who has been an expert in the technology field for a few years. He has written several useful articles which have provided exciting and knowledgeable information on Finance, Business, Construction, Tech, Travel, and Sports.